Subscribe to our Rss Feed

The Best Movie of the Year?

Filed under : Celebrity News

The US National Board of Review has awarded the title of Movie of the Year to “The Social Network”. The announcement is seen as an auspicious sign as the winners of this award usually go on to do very well at the Oscars. Twice out of the previous 3 years, the movie of the year according to the National Board of Review has won the Best Movie Oscar later the same year. Those were: “Slumdog Millionaire” (2008) and “No Country for Old Men” (2007).

So, it looks particularly promising for “The Social Network” – winning not one, but four, awards at the ceremony. Together with its “Best Movie” gong it netted a best director award for David Fincher, best adapted screenplay script award for Aaron Sorkin’s script and a best actor award for Jesse Eisenberg. That is just a flavor of the critical acclaim with which “The Social Network” has been met. It has also grossed in excess of 180 million USD.

Other award winners were Christian Bale, for his Best Supporting Actor role as Dicky Eklund in “The Fighter” and Jacki Weaver for her Best Supporting Actress role in ‘Animal Kingdom’. Ben Affleck’s ‘The Town’ was given the award for the Best Ensemble Cast and the best animated feature award went to “Toy Story 3”

So what do you think of this choice of The National Board of Review, made up of American film historians, educators and students? Are there some hot tips there for the Oscars? And have you seen any of these movies? Are they worthy winners?

Leave a reply

Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD

Normal 0 false false false EN-CA X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}