Subscribe to our Rss Feed

“American Idol” Judges to Return After Pay Negotiations

Filed under : Celebrity News

All three judges and the host will return for the next season of “American Idol” the show’s executive producer Nigel Lythgoe has confirmed. Host Ryan Seacrest will have been particularly relieved to hear that as the announcement was made in an interview for his own radio show.

Nigel Lythgoe’s announcement on Seacrest’s KIIS-FM radio show in Los Angeles  ends months of speculation, as Jennifer Lopez, Randy Jackson and Steven Tyler had all been undecided about returning. Of course, it was all about wanting more money and they got it.

Jennifer Lopez was rumored to be wanting more than her existing $20 million contract. Her fellow judges, perhaps in a fit of jealousy, also launched their own pay negotiations. Steven Tyler’s original two-year deal worth $10 million didn’t suit him once he saw how popular he was an a new American Idol” judge.

“American Idol” producers know successful the chemistry has been between the new “cuddly” judging panel. Fears for the show’s popularity once Mr. Nasty, Simon Cowell, left the show, were seen to be groundless.

So, the “American Idol” judges will soon hit the road for auditions for the show’s eleventh season in the following cities: Denver, Colorado; Houston, Texas; St. Louis, Missouri; San Diego, California; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Charleston, South California and Portland, Oregon.

“American Idol” has been the top-rated show on US TV for most of the last decade. Fears that ratings would drop when old favourites Paula Abdul and Simon Cowell left to work on “The X Factor USA” came to nothing.

“American Idol” returns for its eleventh season in January on Fox.

Leave a reply

Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD

Normal 0 false false false EN-CA X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}